Call Center: Merge Customers

Call Center: Merge Customers

Merging customers is a process in Infoplus where two or more customer records are merged into one priority customer. This combines all previous ship to addresses and orders into the priority customer. The priority record becomes the permanent “bill to” record for the customer.


Use example: If a customer checks out as a guest multiple times, a customer record is created each time. Merging customers cleans up varying records of data on file and, if catalogs are sent, ensures only one catalog is mailed to a customer.


You can begin the merge process from the “Call Center” app or from within the “OMS Customer” table. 


From the “Call Center” app:

  1. Access the “Call Center” app. See Access the "Call Center" App for help.
  2. Click the “Merge Customers” process. You will be taken to the “OMS Customer” table.
  3. Select the customers to be merged by clicking the checkbox next to each order.
  4. After making your selections, click the Next link at the top of the window.
  5. From the customer selections, select a “Priority” Customer.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Review the records to be merged, and click Next to perform the merge. The records will be merged. The data will be merged into the priority record. 

    NOTE:
    The original record(s) still exists, but all data has been moved to the priority record and a link to the “Priority Customer ID” exists in the original record(s). Likewise, in the “Merged Accounts” tab of the priority record, you can see the merged customers. 
  8. Click Done.

From within the “OMS Customer” table:

  1. Access the “OMS Customer” table. See Access the "OMS Customer" Table for help.
  2. Select the customers to be merged by clicking the checkbox next to each order.
  3. Click the Actions button, and select Merge Customers.
  4. From the customer selections, select a “Priority” Customer.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Review the records to be merged, and click Next to perform the merge. The records will be merged. The data will be merged into the priority record. 

    NOTE: The original record(s) still exists, but all data has been moved to the priority record and a link to the “Priority Customer ID” exists in the original record(s). Likewise, in the “Merged Accounts” tab of the priority record, you can see the merged customers.

  7. Click Done.